Ban Thahea, Kaisonephonvihan Capital, Savannakhet

Savannakhet Info


Located: Central Laos (Central Provinces)

Total Area: 21,774 square kilometers.
Population: 906,440.
15 Districts: Kaisone Phomvihan, Outhoumphone, Atsaphangthong, Phine, Sepone, Nong, Thapangthong, Songkhone, Champhon, Xonnabouly, Xaybouly, Vilabouly, Atsaphone, Xayphouthong and Phalanxay.
Capital of the Province: Kaisone Phomvihan.


The name of Savannakhet Province derives from old Pali language, meaning “a land of gold”.
The area of Savannakhet Province has been inhabited since ancient times, being benefited from the Mekong River and its tributaries. People here has cultivated rice in the largest plain in the country, and fostered rich arts and culture.

Savannakhet is in south-central Laos, a little more than halfway between Vientiane Capital and the Cambodian border. The 21,774 km2 province is bordered by Khammouane to the north and Salavan in the south. Thailand’s Mukdahan province is west across the Mekong River, while Viet Nam’s Quang Tri and Quang Binh provinces form the mountainous eastern frontier.

With some 824,000 inhabitants, Savannakhet holds the title as the country’s most populous province. Though Lao and Phouthai make up 75% of the population, the province is quite ethnically diverse, with the remaining people belonging to the Mon-Khmer-speaking Bru, Katang, Souay, Mankhong, So and Trii groups.

Forests cover around 70% of Savannakhet, which is also crisscrossed by several rivers including the Xe Bang Fai, Xe Nou and Xe Bang Hieng. The 1,060 km2 Phou Xang Hae NPA in the province’s north is home to langurs, elephants, tigers and bears, Farther south, rare hornbills have been spotted in the 1,970 km2 Don Phou Vieng NPA. Closer to Savannakhet Town is the Dong Natad Provincial Protected Area.

bridge 8149955887_af1822b0df_b 1980287712_25470dcdc2_z